It’s not easy being green.

Actually, it’s just as easy being green and it tastes good.

In the wake of the arrival of my new pasta roller, pastapalooza continues.  Tonight I made spinach pasta for dinner and it was yummy, but maybe I’m a little bias.  I has a bag of spinach in the fridge and figured it was time to work on new noodle.

I started with my basic pasta recipe that I used the other day and added about a half a cup of fresh spinach puree. I left some small spinach pieces in the puree that gave the finished pasta a kind of mosaic look.  Next time I would probably add more spinach, but keep the consistency the same.

Spinach Pasta

1.5 cups flour

2 eggs

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup fresh spinach, pureed

Wash and dry spinach thoroughly.  You don’t want any extra water in the puree because it can make the pasta dough sticky. Puree the spinach until only small pieces remain.  In a bowl, combine flour and salt.  Dig a well in the middle of the flour/salt mixture and add eggs and spinach.  Combine ingredients slowly using a fork.  If dough is too dry, add a little water.  If dough is too sticky, add a little flour.  Roll out and cut as desired.  Boil 4-8 minutes depending on thickness or until cooked through.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

