Rosemary Infusion

So the other day I found myself with a handful of left over fresh rosemary sprigs.  They smelled so lovely that I just had to find away to use them.  With limited ingredients on hand to whip up an innovative culinary masterpiece, I turned instead the liquor cabinet. Yep,  I hit the bottle. The vodka bottle in fact.

Now, let me preface this by saying that I’m not a heavy drinker, by I enjoy a good cocktail every now and then.  I decided to drop several sprigs of the rosemary into 200mL of vodka and wait. Patiently. For 4 days.  Each day I gently agitated the bottle and gave it the concoction a good sniff to monitor its development.  By 4 days it smelled wonderful and I was all to eager to try it, but what to do with it?  I needed a savory cocktail option that could build off the strong and fragrant rosemary spirits, but not let them over power it.

Patience is a virtue, and not my favorite one.

In the end I settled on a Rosemary Bloody Mary and it was excellent.  In fact, regular Bloody Mary’s just seem to be lacking now.  The Rosemary vodka gave a new depth to the drink without detracting from all that is classic about the Bloody Mary.  The best part may be the simplicity of it all.  The only thing required besides rosemary and vodka was patience.  I’ll be the first to admit that patience isn’t my strongest quality, but even I could handle this one.

Rosemary Vodka

Add several sprigs of fresh rosemary to 200mL of vodka.  Cap and let sit for 3-5 days.  Agitate daily and monitor infusion by scent.  Once it reaches desired strength, filter through a coffee filter to remove rosemary and sediment.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

