Pastapalooza continues: Ravioli time

So I am still swooning over my recent kitchen purchase.  In case you forgot, here it is again:

Isn't she a beaut?

I’ll admit it, I got a little overly excited when it arrived.  I made fresh pasta for dinner 4 times in 5 days and I even brought leftovers to work everyday to see how well they reheated.  It got so bad, I had to give the poor pasta roller a few days off before I started another pasta making blitz.  But the time has come.

Having tested out a basic fresh pasta recipe and a spinach pasta recipe, I decided it was time to stuff it and figured ravioli was a good place to start.  Since the weather is getting a little warmer these days, I wanted to create a lighter ravioli.  I used this recipe from Bon Appetit as inspiration and started digging in the fridge for filling options.  As luck would have it, I had almost the entire ingredient list on hand.

For the noodle part, I used my basic pasta recipe, but I rolled it out much thinner than I had for linguini.  For the filling, I used some asparagus that I had leftover from the previous nights dinner (I love it when I can use fresh ingredients in multiple recipes), ricotta, and mint.  Here’s the result:

All stuffed and ready to boil.

Overall, I had ravioli success.  They tasted good, filled my belly, and didn’t burst during the boil. Win, Win, Win in my book.  But I still learned a few things and have a few notes.

1. Pasta expands in water.  I know, this is not an earth shattering revelation, but what looked like appropriately sized (3 inch by 3 inch) ravioli during assembly turned into beasts half the size of my plate.  In short, size matters.

2. I was a little underwhelmed by the filling.  I was aiming for light and healthy, and it was, but they were missing a little something.  I would add more mint, a little salt, maybe some shredded parm, and perhaps garnish with lemon zest.  I’m still working on a better version, so stayed tuned.  I’ll keep you updated.

3. Thin pasta is important for ravioli.  I was very happy that I rolled the pasta sheets much thinner for the ravioli prep.  It allowed for a good balance between noodle and filling in each bite.

Asparagus Ravioli (Trial #1)

Ingredients

1/2 cup ricotta cheese

10-12 stalks of asparagus (washed, blanched to taste, and chopped into 1/2 inch segments)

1 tsp fresh mint, minced (*I would increase this to maybe 1.25 tsp)

1 egg

salt and pepper

Extra virgin olive oil

1 prep of basic pasta recipe, rolled out thin

Mix ricotta, asparagus, and mint until well combined.  Flavor with salt and pepper to taste and then mix in egg.  Cut out 2 inch by 2 inch squares from pasta sheets and add about 1 tsp of filling.  Lightly wet edges of square with water, top with another pasta square, and push around edges to seal.  Let ravioli sit for 10-15 minutes before boiling so that edges dry a bit.  Add ravioli to boiling water in batches  so that they don’t stick together during boiling.  Ravioli will begin to rise when they are done, after about 3-5 minutes. Recover ravioli from boiling water and toss with olive oil. Top as desired.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

