Oregano Flatbread+Hummus

We have a French language lunch every other week at work.  It’s a great break in the day where we enjoy each other’s company, mingle with people outside our work group, converse in (for most of us) a non-native tongue, and bring in a few foods to share. 
Some weeks we’ll have mini language or culture lessons (all in french), but for the most part it’s rather informal and relaxed.  Since my language skills are not as strong as many of my coworkers, I usually attempt to excel in the food portion of the get together while I mumble through a few words every now and then to stay involved (I understand much more French than I speak).  French lunch is also a great opportunity to try out new recipes on a captive audience, so I always try to attend when my schedule allows. 

Oregano Flatbread

This week, I was in a bit of a savory mood. And since it’s a lunch time affair, I didn’t want to bake a heavy dessert that would zonk everyone out for the afternoon of work.  I made an oregano flatbread and homemade hummus.  A simple, easy, and yummy snack. 

Rinsed and Ready

I got the idea for the flatbread from this recipe by Smitten Kitchen.  It’s very similar to my current pizza dough recipe except there is no yeast involved.  I decided to pair oregano flatbread with a basic hummus because it would be easy to prep and it usually a crowd pleaser.

So here’s what you need to get started on the flatbread.

Olive oil, baking powder, oregano, flour, sea salt

Yep.  That’s it.  To start mix the dry ingredients together.  Then create a dent in the middle of the dry ingredients and add water and olive oil.

Mix together slowly....

Slow combine the dry and wet ingredients until the dough forms.

Dough not D'OH.

Break the dough up into three portions and roll them out on parchment paper.  Try to roll them out as thin as possible because it will make for a crunchier bread.

Rolled and brush.

Brush each flatbread with olive oil before baking.  It will help with browning.  I also add some chunky sea salt on the top of each piece.  Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until lightly brown.

Stacked.

Oregano Flatbread

1+3/4 cups of flour

1 tbsp oregano

1tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup water

1/3 cup olive oil

Preheat oven to 450°F. Combine dry ingredients.  Make a small dent in the mixture and add wet ingredients.  Slowly combine until dough forms.  Divide dough into three portions and rollout on parchment paper.  Brush with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly brown.

Hummus

1 can chickpeas

olive oil

garlic

lemon juice

I don’t really have a recipe for hummus.  I combine all the ingredients in a food processor until I achieve the right taste and consistency.  To be safe, I usually start with small amount of garlic, olive oil, and lemon juice and add more as needed.   This is a basic hummus recipe that can be jazzed up with spices, roasted eggplant or red peppers, or garnished with sesame seeds.

Enjoy!

5 responses to “Oregano Flatbread+Hummus

Leave a Reply

