Pineapple-mint sorbet

I bought two of these guys last week because they were just too good to pass up. 

One is the loneliest number.

Yep, one is missing.  I ate him.  And I liked it.

Pineapple bottom

But I hadn’t decided what to do with the second one.  Slice and eat?  Always tasty, but I want something a little more creative.  Pineapple upside down cake?  Sure, its a classic, but I really have no need for a cake anytime soon. As the smell of this lovely fellow began to permeate my apartment, I knew the time for action was near. And then it got hot.  Not unbearable-oppressive-summer hot, but when you have a 30+ degree temperature swing in one day, you notice it and you get ideas.  Tasty, cool ideas.  With that, his fate was sealed. 

Off with its head!

A sorbet it was.  After a little investigation I came across a recipe for pineapple mint sorbet.  Given that Kettle and I had just planted fresh herbs, including mint, over the weekend, it was a perfect option.  I love that it was a different take on sorbet and a fun way to use my pineapple.

Fresh mint from the garden, er, window sill.

Overall, I am very happy with how this recipe came out.  The consistency is really nice and the pineapple-mint combo works surprisingly well.  Next time I will make sure to very finely chop the mint.  Mine was a little chunky making the bites a little inconsistent.

Time to eat!

Pineapple-Mint Sorbet

Adapted from Scoop Adventures.

2 cups pineapple puree (~half a pineapple peeled and cored)

8 tbsp sugar

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup seltzer water

1+1/2 tsp fresh mint

Add pineapple and sugar to a blender and puree until combined.  Add water and seltzer and pulse until mixed.  Stir in finely diced mint.  Cool mixture in the freezer until well chilled, but not frozen.  Poor mixture into an ice cream machine and churn until solid consistency.  Return to freezer overnight till frozen.

Diggin' in.

Don’t be afraid if you make a little extra pineapple puree.  It makes a great cocktail when mixed with seltzer and mint vodka.

Mmmm...cocktails always make cooking more fun!

Enjoy!

18 responses to “Pineapple-mint sorbet

Leave a Reply

