Strawberry-Kiwi sorbet

Two days a week a local farmer bring his produce truck to work.  A lot of the food is from North Georgia, but he also brings in other yummys that are in season from around the country.  He’ll even bring special things along if you request them.  It’s basically a way to promote veggie and fruit consumption at work and support local farmers. I enjoy visiting it at least once a week! 

I'm back!

This week I got a little inspiration from veggie man.  Of course the strawberries caught my attention.  They are just so tasty and hard to pass up.  But he also had a good deal on huge kiwi this week.  No seriously, these things are huge.  And they were sitting right next to the strawberries.  It’s like they wanted to be together.  So I helped them along. 

A tasty duo

One of the reason I love cooking with fresh fruit is the smell.  Of course there is also the beautiful vibrant colors and the vivid tastes, but, oh, the smell.  There is nothing like walking by a piece of fruit and having its sweet scent catch your nose.  Droooool.  I also love how the taste can cure my cravings for more “devilish” and less healthy desserts.  Sometimes I just need a touch of sweetness. 

Chop chop.

After success with the pineapple-mint sorbet, I decided to continue on the trend.  This time I didn’t follow a recipe and decided to just wing it.  Just puree fruit, sweeten, and freeze, right?  After dicing and pureeing everything up, I decided to strain out the seeds because both fruits have a lot of ’em.  And I mean a lot.  I don’t think this is a ‘must do’ step in terms of taste, but I thought it was important for the consistency of the sorbet.  One thing I love about sorbet is the smoothness and I thought straining out the seeds would help me achieve this. I honestly think I strained out over 1/4 a cup of seeds.

So many seeds!

I sweetened the puree with some simple syrup and seltzer water.  In the end, the sorbet was a little hard to scoop, so maybe a touch more sugar to alter the freezing point next time.  Overall, it’s a keeper.  Quick, easy, and a great option for fresh fruit!

Churning

Strawberry-kiwi Sorbet

1 cup diced kiwi, ~2.5 kiwis

1+1/2 cups diced strawberries

1/4 cup seltzer water

1/4 cup simple syrup

Dice fruit and puree together until no chunks remain.  Strain out seeds if desired. Blend in simple syrup and seltzer water.  Chill mixture in freezer for about 20 minutes.  Churn in ice cream maker for an additional 20 minutes or until thickened.  Return to freezer to solidify.

 

Enjoy!

 

23 responses to “Strawberry-Kiwi sorbet

Leave a Reply

